Sophos, a security firm, has expressed concerned on Facebook Facial Recognition

The new face recognition tool introduced by FaceBook in December and it compares old photos ,in which you and your friends tagged in ,and then gives you suggestions when you upload a new photo by comparing the faces of old tagged photos to the new one. The tool works by comparing the faces in the old tagged photos to new one and recognizes the people who have been tagged earlier and then gives you suggestions. Although this tool makes it easy to tag people, but it comes at the price of privacy violation, and the site has enabled this option for most users without their consent.

Sophos, a security firm, has expressed concerned over the new facial recognition tool on Tuesday. Sophos’ Graham Cluley wrote in a blog post. “Now might be a good time to check your Facebook privacy settings as many Facebook users are reporting that the site has enabled the option in the last few days without giving users any notice,”

Since the questions raised by Sophos about the privacy issue, FaceBook announced that it would now test the service and listen to feed to all feedbacks before fully incorporating it in the system. “We should have been more clear with people during the roll-out process when this became available to them,” a Facebook spokesman in a statement.

Graham Cluley further wrote in his blog, “Remember, Facebook does not give you any right to pre-approve tags. Instead the onus is on you to untag yourself in any photo a friend has tagged you in. After the fact.”

But in defense of FaceBook it was introduced to speed up a process that is done countless times a day. If you do not wish to have this service then go to you FaceBook accounts privacy setting and in the ‘Customize settings’ and then on ‘Things other share’ find the option ‘Suggested photos of me by friends’. And in there if you want to see the status of the setting click on ‘Edit Settings’ and from there you can either choose ‘enabled’ or ‘disabled’.

The core issue with FaceBook’s privacy policy is that it doesn’t ask users to turn on a service but to turn it off. And this is not the first time this has happened. As Cluely wrote in a letter to FaceBook telling them how FaceBook seems to ignoring privacy preference by default and sharing all the information.

email


Interested in Internet Marketing, Creative Writing, Tech news, Technology writing, Designing, Blogging, Bodybuilding and many more in the list

© 2014 TechClump. All rights reserved. Site Admin · Entries RSS · Comments RSS